Our Missionary
Rev. Linda Johnson Seyenkulo

Women of the Lutheran Church in Liberia gather for their convention.

Conventions can be exhausting!

The Lutheran Church in Liberia (LCL) has more than 71,000 members in 46 parishes with over 385 congregations and 330 preaching points scattered in twelve of the 15 political subdivisions of Liberia. There are 70 ordained pastors, 110 ordained deacons and deaconesses, and more than 300 evangelists spread out over eight church districts.

LCL pastors receive their training at the Gbarnga School of Theology, a non-denominational institution training pastors for Lutheran, Methodist, and Anglican Churches in Liberia. The Louis T. Bowers Lay Leaders and Ministry Training Center (LTB-LLMTC) provides programs specifically designed for lay leaders to increase the effectiveness of their ministry.

Our missionary, Rev. Linda Johnson Seyenkulo, is at the Louis T. Bowers Lay Leaders and Ministry Training Center in Totota, and is working toward establishing a Lutheran seminary in Liberia.

(info from Lutheran Church In Liberia Women's Convention report 2010)

To see where Totota is, look down the road west from Gbarnga (location of Phebe Hospital) see a larger map here

The eleven stripes on the Liberian flag are for those who signed the Liberian Declaration of Independence, red and white are for courage and moral excellence. The blue square representing the African continent and the white star represents the first independent western-styled republic in Africa.

home page